22 June 2024 / 09:41 RU

    Armenia PM considers border delimitation in Tavush Province a ‘great success’ for 2 reasons

    The border delimitation commissions of Armenia and Azerbaijan on Wednesday agreed on the designated border sections in the villages of Baghanis in Armenia, Baghanis Ayrum in Azerbaijan, Voskepar in Armenia, Ashaghi Askipara in Azerbaijan, Kirants in Armenia, Kheyrimli  in Azerbaijan, and Berkaber in Armenia, Ghizilhajili in Azerbaijan. Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan announced this at Thursday’s Cabinet meeting of the Armenian government.

    "They signed the description-protocols of these border sections. I want to say that I consider what happened to be a great success for two reasons. First, a very important cornerstone has been laid for the further development and strengthening of our sovereignty and independence. Second, for the first time since independence [in 1991], our republic has an officially delimited border, which will considerably increase the level of security and stability not only in the mentioned villages, but also along the entire Armenia-Azerbaijan border.

    I want to thank the [Armenian] commission on border delimitation and border security, headed by Deputy Prime Minister Mher Grigoryan, I want to thank all the members of the [Armenian] Security Council," Pashinyan said.

    Also, the Armenian PM reflected on couple of details, noting: "It is recorded that the [border] delimitation took place with the maps of 1976, which went through the duty process in 1979. For us, it was fundamental that in the process of border delimitation, it was not a process of creating a new border between Armenia and Azerbaijan, but a process of reproducing the borders reaffirmed by the Alma-Ata Declaration [of 1991]. That is, we are saying that we should not create a border, but we should reproduce the borders that existed at the time of the collapse of the USSR and have de jure legal significance."


    Armenia News - NEWS.am


    16 May 2024 / 13:09